Southern's Hanson Named to Bevo Francis Top 25 Watch List

Southern's Hanson Named to Bevo Francis Top 25 Watch List

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Florida Southern College senior men's basketball player Brett Hanson has been selected to the Bevo Francis Award Top 25 Watch List.

Hanson and teammate Jalyn Hinton were initially named to the Top 100 and Top 50 lists earlier in the season.

The Clarence "Bevo" Francis Award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within Small College Basketball. Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character, and team achievements. This marks the fifth year of the Bevo Francis Award. This prestigious list features players from NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division III, USCAA, and the NCCAA.

The Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year and tournament Most Valuable Player, Hanson averaged 22.4 points, 6.9 rebounds and 4.8 assists per game for a Moccasin team that ended the year 29-2. Hanson was also named the D2CCA Player of the Year. For his career, Hanson scored 2,238 points, making him only the third player in school history to reach the 2,000 point threshold. Hanson shot nearly 50 percent from the field, scoring in double-figures in all 31 games this year, including 19 games with at least 20 points, and a career-high 42 points in a win over Lindenwood on Dec. 7.

Additionally, he has collected 844 total rebounds, dished 439 assists, and grabbed 216 steals, all in the top ten in Florida Southern College history.

Florida Southern boasted an overall record of 29-2, claimed the SSC regular season title with an 18-2 mark in regular season play, and captured the SSC Tournament title in convincing fashion. The Mocs were riding a 17 game winning streak, entering the NCAA South Region Championship.

The Mocs were ranked No. 5 in Division II, and No. 1 in the South Region. Florida Southern was set to host the South Region bracket of the NCAA Tournament.

The finalists for the Bevo Francis Award will be announced on April 4, and the winner will be declared on April 6.