NABC Tabs FSC's Hanson South District First Team, Donnelly Coach of the Year

NABC Tabs FSC's Hanson South District First Team, Donnelly Coach of the Year

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced today the 2020 NABC Coaches' Division II All-District teams and coaches, recognizing the best men's collegiate basketball student-athletes and coaches in the division. Florida Southern College standout Brett Hanson has been named to the First Team All-South Region, while Head Coach Mike Donnelly was named the South Region Coach of the Year.

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division II, these student-athletes and coaches represent the finest basketball players and coaches across America. 

The NABC divides the country into eight different districts, each having its own All-District teams and Coach of the Year.

The Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year and tournament Most Valuable Player, Hanson averaged 22.4 points, 6.9 rebounds and 4.8 assists per game for a Moccasin team that ended the year 29-2. Hanson was also named the D2CCA Player of the Year. For his career, Hanson scored 2,238 points, making him only the third player in school history to reach the 2,000 point threshold. Hanson shot nearly 50 percent from the field, scoring in double-figures in all 31 games this year, including 19 games with at least 20 points, and a career-high 42 points in a win over Lindenwood on December 7. Additionally, he has collected 844 total rebounds, dished 439 assists, and grabbed 216 steals, all in the top ten in Florida Southern College history.

Hanson is included in the Top 25 List for the "Bevo" Francis Award, presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within Small College Basketball. Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character, and team achievements.

Donnelly had previously been named Sunshine State Conference Coach of the Year as well. The Mocs posted a 29-2 overall record, and a No. 5 ranking in the national NABC coaches' poll. Southern then went on to win the SSC Championship tournament, earning the No. 1 seed in the NCAA South Region in the process, and the right to host the NCAA South Regional.


NABC South Region

First Team

Tylan Birts, Barry

Avery Brown, Miles

Clay Guillozet, Valdosta State

Brett Hanson, Florida Southern

Mark Matthews, Nova Southeastern

Ryan Montgomery, Lee


Second Team

Romeo Crouch, Embry-Riddle

James Eads, Tuskagee

LaJuan Hardy, W. Alabama

Darrell Jones, Valdosta State

Luka Majstrovic, Embry-Riddle


Coach of the Year: Mike Donnelly, Florida Southern