NCAA D-II National Championships Field Set, Teams Will Begin Play May 18

NCAA D-II National Championships Field Set, Teams Will Begin Play May 18

INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division II Men's Golf Committee has announced the complete field of 108 participants that will compete in the 2015 NCAA D-II Men's Golf Championships on May 18-22 on the Jones Course at Rock Barn Golf and Spa in Conover, N.C. The championship meet will be hosted by Lenoir-Rhyne University.

Among the 108 participants for this year's D-II National Championship are 20 teams and eight individuals from the four super regional tournaments that were concluded on Wednesday. Among the 20 teams going to Conover is Florida Southern as the 12-time National Champion Moccasins finished sixth at the South/Southeast Super Regional at Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club. At the South/Southeast Super Regional, the eighth-ranked Moccasins shot an 881 for 54 holes to earn one of six spots in the national championship field from the South/Southeast Super Regional.

The other five schools that qualified for the national championships from the South/Southeast Super Regional are regional champion Nova Southeastern, Lynn, Barry, USC Aiken and Saint Leo. Five of the six schools representing the South/Southeast Super Regional are from the Sunshine State Conference. In addition, 12 of the Top 25 teams in the most recent Bushnell Golfweek Division II Coaches' Poll advanced to the national championships, including eight teams ranked in the Top 10 of the poll that was released on April 24.

FSC, who is ranked eighth in the poll, is one of 12 ranked teams going to Conover, the others are No. 1 ranked Nova Southeastern, No. 2 ranked Lynn, No. 3 ranked USC Aiken, who finished fourth at the South/Southeast Super Regional, No. 4 ranked Barry, No. 6 ranked Cal State Chico, who finished third at the South Central/West Regional in Vallejo, Calif., seventh-ranked Cal State-Monterey Bay, who won the South Central/West Regional and ninth ranked Saint Leo, who finished fifth at the South/Southeast Super Regional. Other nationally ranked teams include 12th-ranked Central Missouri, who finished second at the Central/Midwest Regional in Lemont, Ill., 14th-ranked Simon Fraser, who was fourth at the South Central/West Regional and 21st-ranked Missouri-St. Louis, who placed third at the Central/Midwest Regional. 

The teams and eight individual selections will play three days (54 holes) of stroke play beginning on Monday, May 18. Following the 54 holes of stroke play on Wednesday, May 20, an individual champion will be declared along with finishers 2-10. The top eight teams after 54 holes of play will then be placed into a bracket for match play and seeded based on their 54 hole scores at the championship.

In match play, each team will play stroke play for 18 holes and the team with the lowest score wins. Each team match will consist of five points with one point being awarded for each individual match. The four winning teams in the quarterfinals, which are scheduled for Thursday, May 21, will advance to the semifinals and those two semifinal winners, which are scheduled for May 21, will play in a championship final on Friday, May 22. All of the matches will be played to completion and the first team to win three points within the team match will advance, or in the case of the final match, be declared the national champion.

The Mocs will be paired in the first two rounds of stroke play with Indianapolis (No. 5 seed from the Central/Midwest Regional) and the top five individual qualifiers from regional competition. The teams are scheduled to tee off from the No. 1 tee on the Jones Course on Monday, May 18 beginning at 12:55 p.m. and then will tee off from the No. 10 tee at the Jones Course on Tuesday, May  19 beginning at 8:36 a.m. On the final day of stroke play, tee times will be determine by their team score after the second round. 

The Mocs are making its NCAA record 36th appearance as a team in the NCAA Division II National Championships and its first since 2013 when FSC finished first in the stroke play portion of the event in Hershey, Pa., but lost in the quarterfinals of the match/medal play round to Western Washington. Along with winning 12 national titles, the Mocs, who are making its 43rd all-time appearance in the NCAA Tournament this season, have also finished as National Runners-up five times (1979, '80, '84, '88 and '01) and have finished third four other times. In addition, the Mocs have had an NCAA record eight individuals win overall national champions with the most recent being Tim Crouch, who won back-to-back individual national titles in 2013 and 2014. Along with Crouch, the other Mocs that have won individual national championships are Steve Sokol (2001), Jeff Klauk (2000), Matt Saglio (1999), Lee Janzen (1986), Tom Patri (1981) and Tom Gleeton (1979).  

Since becoming the Mocs coach in 1995, Doug Gordin has led the Mocs to 13 appearances in the NCAA D-II National Championships and has won five national titles, finished as national runner-up one time and third two times.

Last season, Barry captured its second consecutive national title as they defeated Nova Southeastern (3.5-1.5) in the match/medal play final and Crouch shot a 54-hole total of 213 to claim the individual national title for the second consecutive season. The 2014 championships were held at the Meadows Golf Club in Allendale, Mich., and were hosted by Grand Valley State University. 

Listed below are the teams and individuals that have advanced to the 2015 NCAA D-II National Championships:

Atlantic/East Regional
Longaberger Golf Club; Nashport, Ohio; hosted by Mountain East Conference
1. Wilmington (Del.)
2. Indiana (Pa.)
3. Charleston (W.Va.)
4. Le Moyne
1. Matt Barto, Gannon (Pa.)
2. Niklas Koerner, St. Thomas Aquinas

Central/Midwest Regional
Cog Hill Golf & Country Club; Lemont, Ill.; hosted by Lewis University
1. Central Oklahoma
2. Central Missouri
3. Missouri-St. Louis
4. Southwestern Oklahoma State
5. Indianapolis
1. Garrison Myles, Malone
2. Michael Hearne, Southern Nazarene

South/Southeast Regional
Lake Jovita Golf & Country Club; Dade City, Fla.; hosted by Saint Leo University
1. Nova Southeastern
2. Lynn
3. Barry
4. USC Aiken
5. Saint Leo
6. Florida Southern
1. Forrest Knight, North Alabama
2. Gaelan Trew, Florida Tech

South Central/West Regional
Hiddenbrooke Golf Club; Vallejo, Calif.; hosted by Cal State University-East Bay
1. Cal State Monterey Bay
2. Sonoma State
3. Cal State Chico
4. Simon Fraser
5. West Texas A&M
1. Patrick Skakel, UC-Colorado Springs
2. Josh Aguilar, Dallas Baptist