Gartrell Repeats as All-Sunshine State Conference Selection

Gartrell Repeats as All-Sunshine State Conference Selection

MELBOURNE, FL – For the second year in a row, Florida Southern's Amanda Gartrell has earned a spot on the All-Sunshine State Conference Women's Golf Team. The junior from Lakeland, Florida was voted Second Team All-SSC in balloting among the league's 11 head coaches.

Gartrell is leading Florida Southern in stroke average for the third year in a row, and her current average of 74.40 is the best of her career. That also ranks as the second lowest in team history, just ahead of her 74.69 average from last year, and trailing only Heather Burgner's school-record 74.27 which was set 10 years ago. Gartrell has been even better than that during the spring portion of the schedule, putting together a 73.53 average in the Mocs' six tournaments this semester. That has dropped her career average to 75.20, which ranks number one in the Florida Southern record book. With 10 rounds of even-par or under-par scores, Gartrell has already surpassed her total in that category from last season.

A two-time SSC Golfer-of-the-Week this season, Gartrell also leads Florida Southern with three top-five and five top-10 finishes, and has an individual winning percentage of .860. Only once in 11 tournaments has she been outside the top-20. Gartrell ended the regular season by winning the Argonaut Invitational with a two-over-par 218 (72-74-72), and followed that with a fourth-place finish at the Sunshine State Conference Championships where she again shot a 218 (75-72-71).

Winning the league's three major individual awards were Tampa's Kiira Riihijarvi as the SSC Golfer-of-the-Year, Nova Southeastern's Hanna Ahlander as the SSC Freshman-of-the-Year, and Lynn's Marcelo Huarte as the SSC Coach-of-the-Year.

Gartrell and the Moccasins are expected to receive word next Monday that their season will be continuing in the NCAA South Region Tournament. The regional tournament is May 6-8 in Cleveland, Tennessee.

For the complete All-Sunshine State Conference Women's Golf Team, click here.