FSC's Hammond Named National YRL Unsung Hero Award Winner in Women's Lacrosse

FSC's Hammond Named National YRL Unsung Hero Award Winner in Women's Lacrosse

NEW YORK, N.Y. – The One Love Foundation has announced that Florida Southern College women's lacrosse student-athlete Abby Hammond is the 2020 Yeardley Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award Winner for Division II. 

This award is given by the One Love Foundation and recognizes the accomplishments of men's and women's collegiate lacrosse players from Divisions I, II and III who demonstrate dedication, integrity, humility, hard work, community service, leadership, kindness and sportsmanship - all qualities Yeardley Love exemplified throughout her life.

"We are so proud to honor these incredible student-athletes who represent the very best in college athletics," said Sharon Robinson, One Love Chair, Yeardley's cousin and head of the

YRL Unsung Hero Award Committee. "These individuals are wonderful teammates who bring out the best in their teams and communities, and they embody the positive spirit that Yeardley possessed."

The One Love Foundation will make a donation in their name of each winner to the charity of their choice.

"Abby is the essence of a team player and no doubt the unsung hero of our team," stated Head Coach Kara Reber. "She is happy for any opportunity to get on the field and extremely happy for her teammates when they achieved milestones, accomplishments, or accolades."

A defender, Hammond played in all nine contests this season, starting five times. She caused nine turnovers, collected 13 ground balls, and controlled two center draws. For her career, she has started 17 of her 35 games played, with 22 caused turnovers, 37 ground balls, and three draw controls. She has scored one goal, coming in her sophomore season, in a 16-4 win over No. 23 Florida Tech.

The Mocs finished the 2020 season ranked No. 7 in the nation by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association. Florida Southern posted a 6-3 record, with wins over several ranked programs, including No. 1 Adelphi, 8-4, No. 21 Seton Hill, 19-3, and No. 6 Regis (Colo.).

This is the third year of the Unsung Hero Awards. Florida Southern's Shannon Mazza won the inaugural award in 2018.

For more information on the One Love Foundation, go to joinonelove.org


2020 YRL Unsung Hero Winners

Women's Division I
Halle Duenkel '20 - James Madison University

Men's Division I
Jackson Appelt '21 - University of Virginia

Women's Division II
Abby Hammond '21 - Florida Southern College 

Men's Division II
Stephen Hogan '20 - Chestnut Hill College

Women's Division III
Katie Clark '20 - Rhodes College

Men's Division III
Spencer Kriss '22 - Washington & Lee University