Moore Picks up Silver Medal in 1,000-Freestyle as Moccasins End Day One of SSC Women’s Swimming Championships Tied for Fourth Overall

Katie Moore
Katie Moore

CLEARWATER, FLA. – Senior Katie Moore had Florida Southern's top finish Thursday night on the first day of the 2019 Sunshine State Conference Women's Swimming Championships with a silver medal in the 1,000-freestyle, and three Moccasins scored in the 50-freestyle to help them end day one tied for fourth place overall.


  • Moore took silver in the 1,000-freestyle in an NCAA "B" time of 10:04.93. It gave her a league medal in the 1,000 for the second year in a row after she placed third as a junior in 2018. Nova Southeastern's Emma Sundstedt won the 1,000-free for the second year in a row with a time of 9:56.66, becoming the league's first 2-time champion in that event. Erin McCann also scored for the Moccasins by placing 16th in 10:40.29.
  • Rebeka Dics was the Moccasins' lone scorer in the 200-IM, placing 16th in 2:08.33. Nova Southeastern's Sasha Maslova was the SSC champion in 2:00.89.
  • In the 50-freestyle, the Moccasins got a seventh-place finish from Krystal Karas in an NCAA "B" time of 23.70. Maria Di Bella and Mallary Meyer reached the consolation finals, finishing 13th and 16th respectively. Tampa's Megan Waddell was the gold medal winner in 23.19 seconds.
  • Florida Southern placed fourth in the 200-medley relay with the team of Di Bella, Haley DeGrace, Rachel Ringley, and Karas posting a time of 1:44.06. That was exactly two seconds faster than the Mocs' previous best time of the season in that event. Tampa won the 200-medley relay in 1:41.58.


  • By out-swimming Nova Southeastern by 0.31 seconds in the 200-medley relay, Tampa took the lead over Nova Southeastern in the overall standings by just two points (215-213). Saint Leo was third with 73 points, and Florida Southern and Lynn were tied for fourth with 70. Rollins is sixth with 62 points, and Florida Tech is seventh with 48.


Day two of the SSC Championships is Friday with prelims at 10 a.m. and finals at 6 p.m.